Day 10 – Hold’em if you’ve got ’em

We had a poker tournament at work today and over 400 people from around the world signed up.

Its free to enter and the winner gets an iPod or something so I was never gonna get rich from it, but I had a couple of quid I’d finish higher than the guy who sits across the desk from me. We’ll call him “Daniel”.

Sadly, I barely had a playable hand and with 3000 starting chips and five minute blinds it wasn’t long before I was up slack alley.

A pair of queens gave me a temporary reprieve but it was short-lived.

In the end I was forced to go all-in with about 2000 chips and pocket 10s.

Someone hit a pair of Jacks on the turn and that was it for you hapless hero. 149th out of 429.

“Daniel” bowed out moments later in 128th, collecting the £2 with gracious dignity.

Update – 23.21pm

I set up an account with Poker Stars this evening as I was convinced I could overcome the loss to “Daniel” and fancied playing a few more hands whilst not under pressure to do real work.

It was a ballache to actually register with them but after something like 20 minutes I did finally make it through the checks.  I chucked £50 for which they credited my $82.78.

An hour later at a 50c/$1 no limit table I left the table $13.45 up, which xe.com tells me is £8.16 profit. Bosh.

Will update Progress Report in the morning

Bookmark this site

del.icio.us | digg | facebook | reddit | StumbleUpon

Leave a comment